Safe Routes and Joyrides

The volunteer work I will do with biking involves serving on a town advisory committee called Safe Routes. It started as part of the Safe Routes to Schools national campaign, but in our town encompasses traveling safely by bicycle or foot the entire town.

I meet with one of the founders of the group and I have my work cut out for me. Jared gave me a huge map of our town with proposed safe routes mapped out already. I love maps! It is a thing of beauty, 2′ X 4′ with green and blues lines drawn for proposed routes.

My plan is to start biking/walking all the routes, see how they fare and see about getting them marked as such. Some involve creating paths through right of ways where cars could not go, but bicyclers or walkers could.

I have a lot to learn about the the language of planning. And I need to call a meeting of the committee and see if I can get more people on board.

Meanwhile… I keep reading and thinking about all of this. (AND PATIENTLY wait for the snow to melt) Right now I am reading Joyride by Mia Burke. Burke was Portland, OR bicycle coordinator from 1993- 1999 and led a time of rapid growth of Portland’s bikeways. While I do not find the book as well-written as Pedaling Revolution it is a great read and the more I read and understand what the possibilities are and why, the better an advocate I can be. And. I believe she will be here in May at Union college!!!

Leave a Reply

